Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering Thermo-fluid Sciences

Thermal-fluid sciences deals with the transfer and conversion of energy from nano-scale devices to global-scale systems. Along with this spectrum of scales is a corresponding spectrum of applications including biomedical implants, municipal energy storage, and cryogen-fueled rockets. Along with this spectrum of applications is a spectrum of technology advancement from the most fundamental and basic science measurements to advanced applied systems engineering. The thermal-fluid sciences faculty at WSU are conducting research in nearly every area of this field and partner with leading industries in Washington State and leading scientific labs around the world.

Fluid flow around automobiles

Topics in Thermo-fluid Sciences

  • Microfluids and nanofluidics
  • Transport modeling for thermal, chemical and biological systems
  • Thermophysical property modelling and measurement
  • High-performance marine craft
  • Nanoscale transport phenomena
  • Ground-effect aerodynamics
  • Free-surface hydrodynamics
  • Energy storage dynamics and integration with renewable sources
  • Heat transfer across nanoparticles
  • Micro/Nano-fluidic and bio-fluidics
  • Electrokinetic transport and electrowetting
  • Capillary flows

Faculty in Thermo-fluid Sciences

Display NameContact InformationPhoto
Banerjee, Soumik
Associate Professor
soumik.banerjee@wsu.edu
509-335-0294
Sloan 215
Pullman

Dutta, Prashanta
Professor
prashanta@wsu.edu
509-335-7989
EME B27
Pullman
Leachman, Jacob
Associate Professor
jacob.leachman@wsu.edu
509-335-7711
Sloan 217
Pullman
Liu, Jin
Assistant Professor
jin.liu2@wsu.edu
509-335-4968
Sloan 211
Pullman
Matveev, Konstantin
Associate Professor
matveev@wsu.edu
509-335-1327
Sloan 225C
Pullman
McLarty, Dustin
Assistant Professor
dustin.mclarty@wsu.edu
509-335-1699
Sloan 213
Pullman
Mesarovic, Sinisa
Professor
smesarovic@wsu.edu
509-335-7936
EME 145
Pullman
Mo, Changki
Associate Professor
changki.mo@tricity.wsu.edu
509-372-7296
Floyd 134J
Tri-Cities
Richards, Cecilia D
Professor
cill@wsu.edu
509-335-7753
EME 153
Pullman
Richards, Robert F
Professor
heatran@wsu.edu
509-335-8157
EME 149
Pullman
Shu, Zhiquan
Clinical Assistant Professor
zq.shu@wsu.edu
425-405-1732
WSU NPS 423
Everett