Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering Energy

Identifying renewable energy sources is one of the grand challenges for humankind. Several faculty in the School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering (MME) are developing highly efficient and sustainable energy-conversion and storage devices. This type of research in spans across several technologies, including photovoltaic solar cells, fuel cells, and batteries that address both energy conversion and storage needs.

Faculty at MME work on many different energy challenges, including developing nanoscale materials for energy devices, fabricating individual devices, and exploring how to integrate these devices into renewable energy grids.

Energy Pyramid

Topics in Energy

  • Energy technologies: (1) Batteries, (2) Fuel cells, (3) Supercapacitors, and (4) Photovoltaic solar cells
  • Photovoltaic materials
  • Energy harvesting
  • High temperature fuel cells
  • Multiscale modeling of materials and processes in energy conversion and storage devices
  • Liquid hydrogen fueling of unmanned aerial systems/vehicles (UAS/UAV)
  • Energy storage dynamics and integration with renewable sources
  • Battery materials and renewable energy materials

Faculty in Energy

Display NameContact InformationPhoto
Banerjee, Soumik
Associate Professor
soumik.banerjee@wsu.edu
509-335-0294
Sloan 215
Pullman

Beckman, Scott
Associate Professor
scott.beckman@wsu.edu
509-335-8571
ETRL 252
Pullman

Dutta, Prashanta
Professor
prashanta@wsu.edu
509-335-7989
EME B27
Pullman
Leachman, Jacob
Associate Professor
jacob.leachman@wsu.edu
509-335-7711
Sloan 217
Pullman
Lin, Yuehe
Professor
yuehe.lin@wsu.edu
509-335-8523
Dana 247C
Pullman
Matveev, Konstantin
Associate Professor
matveev@wsu.edu
509-335-1327
Sloan 225C
Pullman
McLarty, Dustin
Assistant Professor
dustin.mclarty@wsu.edu
509-335-1699
Sloan 213
Pullman
Norton, M. Grant
Professor
Dean, WSU Honors College
mg_norton@wsu.edu
509-335-4505
Honors 130
Pullman
Song, Min Kyu
Assistant Professor
minkyu.song@wsu.edu
509-335-8218
EME 159
Pullman
Zhong, Weihong (Katie)
Professor
Westinghouse Distinguished Professor
katie_zhong@wsu.edu
509-335-7658
PACCAR (PETB) 252
Pullman