Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering Biomaterials and Biotransport

As the implementation of engineering ideas in biomedical applications becomes increasingly important, WSU researchers are carrying out a variety of cutting-edge, interdisciplinary projects on biomaterials, including materials design, manufacturing, and characterization with word-class facilities. Moreover, WSU is actively exploring the transport phenomena in medical robotics, biosensing/bioimaging, and targeted drug delivery through experimentation and numerical modeling at multiple spatial and temporal scales.

Topics in Biomaterials and Biotransport

  • Patient specific implants
  • Nanoscale surface modification of medical devices, and nanoparticles in protein/drug delivery
  • Biomedical manufacturing
  • Design of medical assistive devices
  • Materials and devices for sensing, bioimaging and drug delivery
  • Micro/Nano-fluidic and bio-fluidics
  • Modeling of mesoscale molecule adhesion and targeted drug delivery
  • Multiscale modeling and simulation of protein-protein interactions
  • Medical robotics

Faculty in Biomaterials and Biotransport

Display NameContact InformationPhoto
Bandyopadhyay, Amit
Professor
Herman & Britta Lindholm Endowed Chair
amitband@wsu.edu
509-335-4862
Dana 105A
Pullman
Bose, Susmita
Professor
Herman & Britta Lindholm Endowed Chair
sbose@wsu.edu
509-335-7461
Dana 103A
Pullman
Chen, Kuen-Ren (Roland)
Assistant Professor
roland.chen@wsu.edu
509-335-0376
EME B23
Pullman
Du, Annie D
Research Professor
annie.du@wsu.edu
509-335-3224
EME B23
Pullman
Dutta, Prashanta
Professor
Associate Director and Chair, Graduate Studies Committee, School of Mechanical & Materials Engineering
prashanta@wsu.edu
509-335-7989
EME B27
Pullman
Gozen, Arda
Assistant Professor
arda.gozen@wsu.edu
509-335-3214
Sloan 221
Pullman
Li, Lei
Assistant Professor
lei.li2@wsu.edu
509-335-4034
Sloan 225A
Pullman
Lin, Yuehe
Professor
yuehe.lin@wsu.edu
509-335-8523
Dana 247C
Pullman
Liu, Jin
Assistant Professor
jin.liu2@wsu.edu
509-335-4968
Sloan 211
Pullman
Shu, Zhiquan
Clinical Assistant Professor
zq.shu@wsu.edu
425-405-1732
WSU NPS 423
Everett
Swensen, John P
Assistant Professor
john.swensen@wsu.edu
509-335-1031
Dana 239E
Pullman